Goals for 2017

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a very goal-oriented person, always making to-do lists and ticking things off, so it should come as no surprise to them that I’m also a big fan of setting year-long goals. I figure that if I post them on the internet this year it means I have to do them, right?! Here are some of my goals for 2017:

1 – Read 50 books.

This is one of those goals that’s on my list every year but I’ve so far only managed to complete it twice: in 2013 and 2014. I didn’t manage to read as many books as I’d hoped to last year (think I only made it to 35 or something – and three of those in the last week of the year), but I got a kindle for Christmas this year (thanks, Santa) so now I can read while I’m in Spain!! Ideally, I’d like at least 10 of the books I read this year to be written in a language other than English, and at least 20 to be written by women.

 2 – Visit 5 countries.

Already ticked 2 off the list: the UK and Spain. I would love to explore more of Europe while I’m living in Spain for the first half of the year (gotta take advantage of that visa-free EU travel while I still can, right?).  Also on the to-visit list for this year are Morocco and Italy. If I have enough time and money, I’d love to go back to Portugal and see more of the country, especially given how much of a wash-out my last visit was.

3 – Improve my Spanish.

Having lived here for three months, I can already tell my Spanish skills have improved massively since I first arrived, but I know I still have a lot of work to do to get up to the level of fluency I want/need to have. Last semester I didn’t really make an effort to actively learn the language; I focused more on passive learning, listening to people talk, and trying my best to understand First Dates every night on telly. This semester however, I’m determined to make a conscious effort to improve by trying to write 200 words of Spanish a week, talk to people more in Spanish, and actively study grammar and vocabulary. Here’s hoping my language continues to improve.

4 – Run at least 3 times a week.

Back home in Scotland this would be a given, but I’ve really let my fitness slip since moving to Spain, so I’m making this a goal for the year to hold myself accountable. Some of my friends from my running club back in Glasgow are coming out to Madrid in April so we can run a half marathon there! So excited to see them again! And hopefully having a solid goal to aim to, i.e. actually make it round the course without collapsing, will help me achieve the overall goal.

5 – Post here once a week (while I’m in Spain).

Last semester I actually managed to achieve the one-post-a-week goal, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to keep it up time round too. While I’ve never been the best writer in the world, I think this is one of the easiest and most convenient ways of communicating with all my family and friends back home and letting them know how I’m getting on.

 

What about you guys? Are any of you goal-oriented people like me? If so, what are some of your goals for this year?

One thought on “Goals for 2017

Leave a Reply

