Things to do // boat cruise, Sevilla.

This week the primary three classes from one of my schools went on a trip into the centre of Sevilla using different kinds of public transport and they asked me if I wanted to help out… The answer was obviously yes. Kind of inspired by that, I thought I might start a series of posts here where I write about things to do and places to go wherever I’m currently living. And this is the first post in the series (not sure how many more there will be, but we’ll see).

As part of the school trip, we went on an hour long sightseeing cruise on the river Guadalquivir which flows through the city. The boat cruise is offered (I think) in Spanish (obvs), English, French, and maybe German, so even if you don’t speak that much Spanish you can still understand the information the tour guide tells you by megaphone. The route passes under six of the bridges over the river, both classical and more modern, and offers a different perspective on some of the main sites, such as the Giralda and Plaza de Toros.

p1050315
About to pass under Puente de Triana.

The boat itself was a lot bigger than I was expecting and there were toilets on board too (for those of you *cough* Mum *cough* who need to go more often than others). And the seating area on the upper deck was under the cover of canvas which wasn’t really necessary for us (it is only March, after all), but would be very much appreciated if you were to do the cruise in summer when temperatures can reach up to 45/50 degrees.

It was definitely interesting to get to see a different side of the city, and the cruise itself was surprisingly relaxing (ask anyone who knows me and they’ll tell you I get travel sick fairly often, especially on boats). Thankfully on the Thursday we went the weather was absolutely perfect as well, sunny but not too hot, which gave me the chance to soak up some vitamin d without the risk of burning my pale Scottish skin. Can’t imagine how grim it would have been to have gone on Friday when it was pouring down. Some cities look better in the rain, but Sevilla is not one of them.

Would I have paid out of my own pocket to do the tour? Not necessarily. Would I be happy if someone were to pay me to do it again? Absolutely.

img_4274
View of Torre del Oro from the river.

Where: The tour starts at Torre del Oro, Sevilla.

When: Cruises leave every 30 minutes from 11:00-22:00 (April-November) and 11:00-19:00 (December-March).

Price: €15 per person (kids under 12 go free if accompanied by an adult). Or you could be lucky, like me, and get to go as part of a school trip and not have to pay(!).

How to get there: Sevilla has an international airport with flights to many different destinations. You can also fly in Málaga or Madrid and take the high speed train to Sevilla itself. Once in the city, the Torre del Oro (where the boats depart from) is very central and one of the most recognisable and easy-to-find monuments in the city.

5 thoughts on “Things to do // boat cruise, Sevilla.

  1. Always nice to see a place from a different perspective – though it has to be said, I tend to give boats a miss as they usually make me feel sick (or sleep on them if I have to be on one)! Vitamin D is in short supply here at the moment, so looking forward to the return of sunny days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

