Chocolate and Pecan Brownies

Now, anyone who knows me knows I’m not much of a baker. I love to cook, but baking has always been a little too precise for my haphazard ways in the kitchen (just ask my sister who has to order me about whenever we bake together). But a friend of mine introduced me to this brownie recipe when we were in Spain and we made these tasty brownies quite a lot together without any major disasters. So now I’m home, I wanted to try them out for myself to see how it went. I’m super proud of myself because this is the first time I’ve ever successfully baked anything alone!

The recipe I used made 9 big brownies and was adapted from here, but I altered it a little by leaving out the bananas. Following the recipe below, the brownies contain dairy and gluten and aren’t vegan friendly, but in Spain we always made them with chickpea flour (gluten-free) and they tasted just as good!

You will need:

  • 45g of all purpose flour (or chickpea flour, depending on your dietary requirements)
  • 30g of cocoa powder
  • 300g of sugar (I used golden caster)
  • 100g of pecans
  • 200g of dark chocolate
  • 200g of butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

What to do:

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a brownie tin with parchment paper. (The tin I used was 8 inches by 10 inches by 2 inches)

Toast the pecans for around 10 minutes. Once toasted, remove them from the oven and chop them up into small pieces.

Sift the flour and cocoa powder into a large mixing bowl. Add the sugar, salt, and toasted pecans. Thoroughly mix them all together.

Chop the chocolate into smaller chunks and add to the top of the mixing bowl. Don’t mix it in yet, though.

Beat the eggs and vanilla together.

Heat the butter over a low heat until just melted.

Pour the melted butter over the chocolate pieces and add the egg mixture. Stir the batter together with a rubber spatula until it’s well-combined and slightly liquidy looking.

Pour the brownie batter into the brownie pan and spread out well.

Bake for 45 minutes (or until the edges are crisp).

Let the brownies cool down for around 2 hours before cutting them into pieces.

Enjoy!!

P1050890

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and Pecan Brownies

  1. Ooh these look so tasty! (This is making me crave brownies, even though it’s ridiculously hot here at the moment so anything baked/ cooked is off limits for the sake of not having a boiling hot kitchen!) I’ve never tried using chickpea flour – I’ll have to do some experimenting in the kitchen when I’m back in the UK 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

