A productive day back home // Life update

I had another few days off work last week, so I decided to head back home to my parents’ house for a bit to see them and my sister. I was back down for Monday and Tuesday, and my sister and I made the most of the lovely weather on the second day to get some jobs done around the house and generally be productive, so I thought I’d write a little post about that.

First job of the day: re-paint the garden bench and washing poles. Now, and this may have been a mistake on Mum’s part, because my sister and I were doing the painting, that meant we got to choose the colour….so sorry Mum, but cornflower blue just wasn’t to be. We ended up choosing a more turquoise blue instead. After going down town to buy the paint, I was in charge of sanding down the bench, and then we painted half each. Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to get all the coats finished because it started raining. But you can see from the photos that it looks quite different.

Post-coat-one-of-bench-painting-and-lunch, it was time for job number two of the day: baking. Now, as I’ve said before on here, I’m not the best baker in the world. My sister on the other hand is great, so naturally she was the one who took charge in the kitchen and ordered me about. And as head chef, she also got to pick what we made, so she decided on Blondie Pie from Hummingbird Bakery’s Home Sweet Home book. Can I just say, even for someone with a sweet tooth as big as mine, the amount of sugar in this recipe intimidated me a little. Having said that, the recipe was very easy to follow and I didn’t make any mistakes (but maybe that was the fear of how much trouble I’d be in if I did something wrong more than anything else…) and I was so proud of myself because I managed to make caramel right the first time round!! Clearly not such a disaster in the kitchen after all. The finished pie was yummy, but very very sweet. We also don’t think it was left to set in the fridge for long enough as it was a bit crumbly in the middle (which is why there are no photos of individual slices, as they fell apart as soon as we cut into the pie).

20170725_172331.jpg
Blondie pie

While the pie was in the oven and in between coats of paint, we took advantage of the sunny day and drove a few miles out the road to walk some of the trails at Ardyne. The route was maybe about 2.5/3 miles and a bit steep and muddy in places, but nothing overly challenging. Here are some photos of the view from the highest part we walked to (there’s an option to walk all the way over the hill and come back down in the town centre), and of a seal we spotted on the drive back.

And in exciting news, I thought I wasn’t going to be able to travel at all this summer, but in a few weeks time I have four days off in row!! Guess who’s going to book herself a cheeky wee trip away?! Watch this space…

One thought on “A productive day back home // Life update

Leave a Reply

